Apply to be a Kaplan Scholar

Kaplan Leadership Program 2022

Program Benefits:

1.Academic Advising + Transfer Admissions Support

  • Work one-on-one with an academic advisor to define your leadership path at your community college + beyond.
  • Work one-on-one with a transfer admissions advisor in order to identify the right four-year program for you and remain competitive as a transfer admissions applicant.
  • Work with a writing coach to enhance your skills and work on your supplemental application materials
  • Access to a robust network of KLP scholars and alums from over 35+ four-year institutions across the U.S.

2. Financial support.

  • Fees associated with the college transfer application process.
  • Apply for additional funding up to $500 a month, including living expenses like wifi, transportation, and books, while pursuing your Associate's Degree + College Transfer.


3. Personal Development, Leadership Training + Mentoring

  • Participate in leadership workshops given by industry leaders and other professionals.
  • Get career counseling, job placement support, and admissions guidance for graduate and professional programs.
  • Mentoring by KLP Alumni + Staff

4. Additional Benefits

  • Improve your skills with individual tutoring in Math, English + the Sciences.
  • College Visits (when possible)
  • Laptop provided upon successful completion of the college transfer
  • Scholarships of up to $3,000 per year toward your Associate's Degree.
  • Cultural enrichment to broaden your cultural experiences through events and visits focusing on the rich diversity of NYC



Program Eligibility

  • Desire to challenge yourself + become a leader in your profession + community.
  • Be a student currently matriculated in an Associate's Degree program in the NYC/NJ area.
  • Minimum GPA of 3.5 (on a 4.0 scale)
  • Completed 24 of 35 non-remedial credits by the end of your Spring semester.*
  • Be a U.S. Citizen or Permanent Resident.
  • Qualify for federal and/or state financial aid.
  • Be Black/African American, Hispanic/Latinx/Latino, or Native American.
  • Committed to transfer to a Bachelor's program immediately upon completion of Associates Degree.
  • If you will have earned more than 30 credits towards your degree by the end of your Spring semester but will still be enrolled in the upcoming Fall semester, please contact the Foundation directly to discuss your unique situation.

Selection Criteria

The Kaplan Leadership Program (KLP) is looking for students that understand the importance of a great education in building a successful career. If you are a high achiever with ambitions to challenge yourself and become a leader in your profession and community, apply!

We are looking for students that meet the following criteria:

  • Achievement and Academic Ability: Possess strong academic record at the community college that includes consistent course enrollment, degree progress, and grades.
  • Financial need: Demonstrate financial need (Federal Pell and/or NY State Tap eligible)
  • Persistence: Proven record of success while overcoming personal, academic and professional challenges.
  • Leadership: Take initiative and be able to set a path to meet and exceed personal, academic and professional expectations.
  • Desire to help others: Be an engaged global citizen, committed to putting your skills, abilities, and passion to work in order to improve the lives of others and society as a whole.

 

Interested? Learn more about the Kaplan Leadership Program!

Check out the Application and all supporting materials by visitng the application portal.

Email questions to info@KaplanEdFoundation.org

Attend a Kaplan Leadership Program Application Office Hours on Zoom

  • Tuesdays at 1p - 2p ET;
  • Thursdays 6p - 7p ET

Follow us on Instagram, and LinkedIn for current information or go to your school’s scholarship representative or designated contact

** KLP benefits, eligibility, and selection criteria are subject to change.



On Campus Contacts (Champions)
The following provides a location on each campus where students can get help with their KLP application. If your college is not listed, you meet the Program's eligibility requirements, and you have questions, contact the Foundation application email us at Info@KaplanEdFoundation.org

                                                                                                                                                   

   INSTITUTION                                     ON-CAMPUS LOCATION                  CONTACT NAMES

Borough of Manhattan Community College


Scholarship Office
Room S343

Ms. Sussie Gyamfi
Scholarship Coordinator
212.220.8130
sgyamfi@bmcc.cuny.edu

Bronx Community College

Colston Hall
Room 528

Yvonne Erazo-Davila, Ed.D
Assistant Director, Student Success
718.289.5903
yvonne.erazo@bcc.cuny.edu

Tiffany Dubon
Student Life Specialist
718.289.5421
tiffany.dubon@bcc.cuny.edu

College of Staten Island

Career and Scholarship Center
Room 1A-105

Dr. Geoff Hempill
Coordinator of Fellowships & Scholarships
718.982.2301
hempill@mail.csi.cuny.edu

 

Guttman Community College

Office of Partnerships and Community Engagement
Room 407

Patricia Jean
Senior Career Advisor
646.313.8014
Patricia.Jean@guttman.cuny.edu

Hostos Community College

Transfer Office
Room D-101A
Office of Student Development
Room C-392

Theresa Hammonds
Transfer Coordinator
Office of Transfer Services
718.518.4338
thammonds@hostos.cuny.edu

Jason Libfeld
Student Leadership Coordinator
718.518.6541
jlibfeld@hostos.cuny.edu

Hudson County Community College

Center for Academic and Student Success
A Building
2nd Floor

Duane Williams
Asst Director, Advisement & Counseling
201.360.4230
dwilliams@hccc.edu

Kingsborough Community College

Career Development/Transfer Office
Room C102

Melissa Merced
Transfer Services Coordinator
718.368.4599 
melissa.merced@kbcc.cuny.edu

LaGuardia Community College

Office of Transfer Services
Room B215
ASAP Office
Room B235


Honors Program
Office E-103 (V)

Jose Plasencia
Associate Director for Transfer Services
718.482.5970
jplasencia@lagcc.cuny.edu

Rocio Rosado
Career & Employment Specialist
rrosado@lagcc.cuny.edu

Karlyn Koh, PhD
Professor of English
Chair, Honors Program
kkoh@lagcc.cuny.edu

Noam Scheindlin, PhD
Associate Professor, English
Interim Co-Director, Honors Program
nscheindlin@lagcc.cuny.edu

 

Medgar Evers College

Room 2015-T
 


 

Jeffrey Sigler
Director, Freshman Year Program
718.270.4979
jeffrey@mec.cuny.edu

NYC College of Technology

Placement Office
Room N602B
Alternate:
Scholarships and Residency Office
Room NG 09

Adrian Griffith
Director of Placement
718.260.5050
agriffith@citytech.cuny.edu

Alternate:
Olliver Davis
Scholarship Director
718.260.5054
scholarshipsvcs@citytech.cuny.edu

Queensborough Community College

W Building

Renee Rhodd
Director, Transfer Resource Center
rrhodd@qcc.cuny.edu

Stephen Atkins
ASAP Career Specialist
718.281.5484
satkins@qcc.cuny.edu

Union County College


Office: A-212

Bernard A. Polnariev, Ph.D.
Vice President for Administrative Services
908.709.7005
Bernard.Polnariev@ucc.edu

 

 

Westchester Community College

Scholarship Office
Library Room 242

Robin Graff,
Coordinator of Transfer Services
transfer@sunywcc.edu


Questions? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions, email us at info@kaplanedfoundation.org